Be Your Own Cheerleader

Be Your Own Cheerleader

It's safe to say this article is about me because I was thinking about myself while writing this article. I just wanna talk to the code newbies like me feeling discouraged and encourage them they can do this. Yes! We can do this!

While learning something new be it web development, data science, mobile app development, machine learning, artificial intelligence, android development, designing and others, there are a lot of times you just want to give up and be over it. There are times you get stuck and feel so frustrated, you just don't want to push further. There are times you feel like you are on a dead road and you just want to go back home.

There are times you will see what other people have done and how far they've gone and you will be asking yourself questions like:

Can I really do this?

Is this path for me?

Can I understand this code, this design?

What are they talking about?

What does this mean?

How am I gonna debug this code?

While you are at your dilemma you see other developers pushing their neatly structured codes on GitHub, sharing nicely written articles on twitter.

Don't be dismayed by all that, instead let all what you are seeing be a challenge and a push for you to be your better self.

Coding can really look scary and confusing and seeing what other people are doing can be overwhelming. There are times when you get jammed and it seems there is no way out and then you will be like I'm done! I'm not even doing it again! Like Yo! aren't doing this anymore. Shey? The initial drive and motivation start to drain away. I know that feeling. I've been there, in fact, I'm there right now and I wouldn't say there is a special remedy for not feeling that way. It is normal for you to feel that way sometimes, but when you do let me tell you what to do.

You have to bring back to your memory the purpose of your learning. We all have different drives and motives for learning, you just have to keep reminding yourself of that purpose.

However, having the right purpose is key. Put that first.

Picture the winning prize and insert yourself as the winner. Look at all the wonderful things you can do with your skill(skills), the lives you can impact with it, and then go for it.

Be consistent and truthful to yourself. Give yourself the benefit of doubt, give yourself that chance, give yourself time, learning takes time, learn, and learn and relearn. Celebrate your little success. Connect with people that can help you move forward. Before you prove your worth to the whole world, prove it to yourself first. You'll be glad you did.

Trust me you've got this. You can do this! Just don't stop trying, don't stop pushing. When you make a mistake, keep trying, You don't find your worth in a person. You find your worth within yourself. Tell yourself : I am courageous I am unstoppable I am gifted I am successful I am confident Don't quit because at this point you don't need anybody to cheer you but YOURSELF, BE YOUR OWN CHEERLEADER.

I hope you find this article really helpful and inspiring.

Thanks for reading

Feel free to drop your comment.